Where Is Bocas Del Toro Located (and Why Is It Called by That Name)?

The province of Bocas del Toro is located on the Caribbean coast of Panama. It is made up of nine islands, including Isla Colón (the largest and most populated island), Isla Carenero, Isla Bastimentos, and Isla Cristóbal. The province also includes the archipelago's surrounding waters.
Where Is Bocas Del Toro Located?
Table of Contents

Bocas del Toro is a travel destination for many tourists because of its natural beauty and laid-back atmosphere. The Caribbean Sea surrounds the islands, making for beautiful beaches and crystal clear waters.

Is Bocas Del Toro in the Caribbean?

Situated northwest of Panama’s mainland, on the Caribbean Sea, Bocas del Toro province is definitely in the Caribbean. The archipelago is made up of nine large and small islands and many islets located off the north coast of Panama.

Like other islands in the Caribbean, Bocas del Toro enjoys year-round tropical weather. The province sees a lot of rainfall, so it’s lush and green year-round.

Is Bocas Del Toro an Island?

Bocas Del Toro is an archipelago, which is a chain of islands. The main nine islands include the islands of Colón, Carenero, and Bastimentos. There are also many smaller islets and rocks in the chain.

With the archipelago’s idyllic beauty, these islands rapidly become popular tourist destinations. It’s easy to see why with the crystal clear waters, white-sand beaches, and lush rainforest!

How Many Islands Are in Bocas Del Toro?

There are nine main islands in the Bocas del Toro archipelago and several smaller islets and rocks. The largest and most populated island is Isla Colón, while the smallest is Water Cay. There are also several small cays, low-lying islands made up of coral or sand.

Who Founded Bocas Del Toro?

Bocas del Toro was initially founded by African immigrants during the early 19th century. In 1502, Christopher Columbus became the first European to explore the area. He named the island “Isla del Drago” or Dragon Island.

Previously part of Costa Rica, Bocas del Toro was ceded to Panama after Panama’s independence from Colombia.

The province is now home to over 125,000 people, most of whom are of Afro-Caribbean descent. There is a significant expat community made up of people from all over the world who have come to enjoy the island lifestyle.

What Country Is Bocas Del Toro in?

Bocas del Toro is a province of Panama. Before, it was part of Costa Rica. However, Panama acquired it after its independence from Colombia. The archipelago is situated in the Caribbean Sea, northwest of Panama’s mainland.

When Did Bocas Del Toro Become Part of Panama?

Bocas del Toro became part of Panama in 1903 after Panama acquired it from Costa Rica. The province is now a popular tourist destination due to the island’s stunning views and crystal clear beaches.

What Does Bocas Del Toro Mean in English?

Bocas del Toro means “Mouths of the Bull” in English.

How Did Bocas Del Toro Get Its Name?

There are no records as to how Bocas del Toro got its name. However, the name of the island is synonymous with a tropical paradise.

Tourists flock to the province to enjoy its stunning beaches and crystal clear waters. The weather is hot and humid all year round, making it the perfect place to escape the cold winter weather. Bocas del Toro is a paradise worth visiting!